Belcarra Community

Community Council


Established in 1991 by Belcarra Community Co-Op Society Ltd, Belcarra Community Council works to promote the welfare of all persons permanently residing in the Belcarra area. The aim is to promote the social, cultural & economic development of the community and the utilisation of all the resources of the community.

In 2001 Belcarra Community Council established the Belcarra Community Lotto which has financially supported the development of the Community Centre, Riverside Walks, Tidy Towns Projects, Rural Social Scheme, Various Community Groups and currently the development of Belcarra Sports Centre.

The Council makes representation to Mayo County Council and elected representatives for improvements to roads, footpaths and public areas. In addition the Community Council oversees the maintenance & enhancement of the local graveyards of Elmhall & Guesdian.

The Council consists of voluntary representatives from townlands in the wider Belcarra Area and various community groups.


Belcarra Community Council are responsible for the following projects:
  • Belcarra Community Lotto
  • Graveyard maintenance (Elmhall & Guisdian), including mapping of both cemeteries
  • Riverside walk from the village to the Eviction Cottage
  • Sponsors and co-ordinators of Rural Social Scheme for community development
  • Promotion of village improvements and surrounding Townland i.e. footpaths, roads, signage and all amenities
  • Advocates of local groups and individuals within the community events
  • Lobbied for a Recycling bottle bank in the Community
  • Developed a walk way around the church field
  • Implementation of Belcarra Area Community Futures Action Plan 2012 - 2017


Monthly meetings held first Tuesday night of every month. New members would be appreciated.

How to join:

Contact any of the Committee members above.


Chairperson: Noel Rowland (Tel: 086 838 4657)
Secretary: Mary Jo Cannon (Tel: 087 928 2102)
Treasurer: Breege Canavan (Tel: 086 608 8042)

View Other Members

Members representing townlands and/or community groups include:

  • Jackie Biggins - Derreens/Kilnageer/Elmhall
  • Mary B Prendergast - Ballydavock
  • Maureen Cunningham & Pat Nestor - Belcarra
  • Des Keane, Richard Heneghan, David Cunningham - Cullaire
  • Mary Fitzgerald - Clooncundra
  • Deirdre Nestor - Belcarra N.S/Tidy Towns
  • Pat O’Malley - Cloonagh
  • Chrissie Galvin - Lisaniskea/Deerpark/New Dublin
  • Padraic Gibbons - Ballyfarna/Kilbrennan
  • Jody Kilkenny - Roslahan/Ballinlassa
  • Breege Canavan - Fairhill/Logakilleen
  • Mary Jo Cannon - Carrajames/Cloonduane
  • Noel Rowland - Bridgemount/Guesdian/Ballinafad/Kinally/Loona/Donamona
  • Currently Vacant ... Logaphuill/Coachfield, Clooney, Curry, Walshpool